For many on-site developers, debugging can be a bit hard sometimes. Even finding a small bug can be an irritating and hair-pulling job. To make debugging easier than before, developers have published a wonderful plugin that resets all the values in a WordPress system to the default ones, and that too without modifying and deleting any file. As the makers of WP Reset state, “It is a tool made by developers, for developers.” This statement fits naturally in this context.
The developers of WP Reset are working on a new feature named “Multi-site Reset.” It will be used to reset multiple websites all at once. However, testing the Multi-SIte Reset feature needs user caution. The developers of this plugin have advised to test the tool first on some sub-domains and then on multisite.
Following are the various uses and benefits of using Tool.
As mentioned above, WP Reset plugin is used to reset the values to default in a WP system. Changing the values doesn’t affect the file system and keeps your data intact. It has multiple failsafe methods to reset the values. It is very fast and safe to use. With WP Reset’s help, the on-site developers can quickly delete all the customizations and the content of a WordPress website. This plugin is very useful for debuggers and testers as it helps to reset the whole system in minutes.
When the user resets his WordPress system using WP Reset plugin, the following changes take place:
- All the posts, comments, pages, custom posts, media entries, and users are reset to NULL values.
- All the WordPress database tables are reset to default.
- All the custom database tables that are made by the user are deleted permanently.
When the user resets his WordPress system using WP Reset plugin, the following things are kept back:
- All the media files that the user has uploaded will remain intact under the wp-uploads section. However, the media files will not be shown in the “Media” section of the WordPress Dashboard.
- All the plugins, themes, media files remain untouched and will not be deleted.
- The site titles, WordPress admin panel URL, site address, site settings and search visibility settings will remain unaffected.
- The current user will be restored, but the password and username will remain the same as in the present time. You can also visit: https://wphtaccess.com
The Consequences of Using WP Reset
Following are the situation that will take place when you use WP Reset Plugin on your WordPress website.
- Once you select Reset, you will have to confirm the action one more time because after that you can not Undo.
- All the settings mentioned in the above list will be reset and cannot be restored.
- The files and system features mentioned above will remain intact and won’t be affected.
- The user will be logged out of his/her admin panel and then will be logged in automatically.
- WP Reset Plugin can be reactivated if the user wishes. The option will be available in the Plugins section of the WordPress dashboard.
Thank you for reading the article and let us know if this interests you and we will come up with more such content pieces. The post is not sponsored by any of the brand mentioned above.